Skip to content

I-Phone 4

June 28, 2010

I don’t normally complain about technology that much but I have endured an experience over the past few days that makes me long for the days when life was a lot simpler. It also makes me suspect a conspiracy.

My wife bought me my first cell phone about 15 years ago. It was a Nokia and it was great for making phone calls. I still relied on my answering machine for years. I went through about three more phones until 2005 or so.

Then I got a Treo, mainly so I could connect it to my computer and download my contacts. In 2008 I took the plunge and bought the I-Phone 3G. Now I could get my emails, send text messages and, because of what Apple called .Mac (now Mobile Me), I could sync my contacts — all 2600 of them — and calendar over the air. If I put a phone number into my telephone contact list, it would miraculously upload to my computer address book, and vice versa. Until it wouldn’t.

Like most people I now use my cellphone for business and pleasure. I keep in contact, send emails and texts, surf the web and jam to George Benson, the Whispers, Sister Sledge and Third World.

I began noticing that the contacts and calendars weren’t acting right last month. I called tech support and they assured me everything was working okay. But it wasn’t. They suggested taking my laptop and my phone to the Genius Bar. For you non-Apple users, that’s the tech support counter at the Apple store where the “geniuses” can fix all problems. They’d never seen my issue and couldn’t help me.

On Thursday Apple released the new I-Phone 4 simultaneously with an upgrade for current I-Phone users to the new I-Phone 4 operating system. I downloaded it and it CRASHED MY PHONE. Wiped out my contacts, emails, photos and music. I took the phone to AT&T to see if they could help. They were able to get the phone working so I could make calls, but it’s hard to make calls when you DON’T HAVE ANY CONTACTS.  The phone also went into a vicious cycle of restarting, shutting down and restarting. And, of course, Apple Tech Support doesn’t work on weekends!!

I got on the phone this morning with Apple. They couldn’t figure it out. It seems my only option is to buy a new phone.

So let’s review. Apple releases a new I-Phone at the same time they direct current I-Phone 3G and 3GS users to download the new, fabulous operating system. It crashes my phone (and a bunch of others, too: http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=2481051&tstart=-1) and my only real solution is to buy a new phone? You don’t think Apple planned it this way, do you? Naaahhhhh!

I've been seeing this an awful lot since Friday.

One Comment leave one →
  1. pseudoscholar permalink
    June 29, 2010 6:33 am

    I’m definitely going to wait until the second generation of iPhone4 before jumping on this band wagon. I’m uncomfortable with all the problems I’ve heard about, including the antennae problem.

Leave a Reply

